The Universe Solved

Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Living Machines Options
jim
Posted: Wednesday, February 10, 2021 3:18:39 PM

Groups: Member

Significant step toward nanobots.
Interesting blend of biology and AI. I'm guessing no true consciousness here, just neural net kind of learning software on a biological machine substrate...

https://www.freethink.com/articles/living-machines
jdlaw
Posted: Sunday, February 21, 2021 5:18:29 AM

Groups: Member

Jim,

Sorry I have not been here for a while and missed this post last week. This article you posted was a great find. These frog cells are being programmed to exhibit the kind of intentionality ("volition") I have been talking about since 2012.

I do not know if anybody else will see it this way.  I am just a crazy "tinkerer" when it comes to my "hobby" of consciousness studies.

But, if ...

"We tell the computer what we want the organism to do, and the computer performs a trial and error process, creating and simulating millions of virtual creatures."

... are we also not playing "God" just a little bit here?

I think I have discussed with you before this counterintuitive idea that free will is real but actually requires  "determinism" and not the other way around. 

In other words if we humans are going to have free will, then we need to have a set of moral values (or preprogrammed personality parameters) first within our programming matrix or else no degrees of freedom could be possible.  Randomness (or "fuzzy logic") could never help solve the free will programming Paradox.

Neo-classical Information is Reality Postulatehttp://www.non-virtual.com/Neo.htm